The Millennials Have Discovered Fly Fishing

Replies

• NZ IndicatorNZ Indicator Senior Member Posts: 10,247 Senior Member
    edited October 16 #32

@fishingcomic said:

I will confess every spot I fish I either learned from a friend or a fly shop. I am not that good with topo maps.

I used topo maps, forest service maps and a compass, which was then followed by using the Delorme Maps and then later on switched to GPS. I've spent an entire day with Delorme in hand driving back roads finding spots I wanted to fish and have found every spot on my own.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Some spots were a bust. Some were hot.

@breamfisher said:

1. Who's to say that scouting via Google Maps prior to actually hitting the water is bad? I've done it for work: looking for a publicly-accessed waterbody or chunk of forest, if I can weed out some spots without actually setting foot on the ground or wetting a boat, that's a time saver for me. Unless you're just looking for an excuse to get in the woods or on the water (not that that's a bad thing) time saved can make for more efficient time in the area.

I don't think google maps or google earth is a spot burner, because as least the person has to do the leg work to get there and figure it out.

• breamfisherbreamfisher Senior Member Posts: 4,827 Senior Member

You'd be surprised how many folks complain about it, not just for fly fishing. It can get real common for some hunting and wildlife viewing, especially in areas of limited opportunity. The article you linked even mentions Google Maps.

Here's two hints (not directed to you, but more in general):
    1. You don't have to tag where you caught all the fish on social media.
    2. You don't have to include those photos on Google Maps where you got the fish.

If people just kept their mouths shut, the secret spots would stay... secret.