Prison-industrial complex

Scott ButnerScott Butner Senior MemberPosts: 3,918 Senior Member
so, recently I've had some first hand experience as a family member of someone incarcerated in our local county jails (well, almost family -- a very good family friend who we treat as our daughter). She's had some run-ins with the law -- all connected to a turbulent relationship with a junkie boyfriend -- and the net result is she's in jail now for domestic violence charges.

What we're seeing ain't pretty. (And yeah, jail ain't SUPPOSED to be pretty, i Know that -- and yeah, she takes responsibility for her actions in all of this, so spare the lectures -- when it's family, you gotta love them anyway). Two full days spent in a straightjacket, sitting in the overflow from her cell's toilet. Prison guards that routinely trade sex for preferential treatment. Indeterminate holding times awaiting trial with no contact allowed to family -- people just vanish.

But I think the biggest eye opener has been the huge INDUSTRY that has grown up around our jail system, feeding off the families and loved ones of inmates. Want to get messages to your inmate? Well sure, we'll sell you phone access, and gee, that $10 service fee everytime you make a deposit to their commisary account, that sure makes the $3.00 ATM fee seem trivial now, don't it?

What's really interesting is to compare the two county jails -- literally 10 miles from each other, in a community where there's a great deal of fluidity across the county border (indeed, our friend was arrested in one county last week, jailed there for 5 days, then immediately picked up on her release by the OTHER county for parole violation and thrown in THAT jail for an unknown amount of time (could be 30 days, could be a year -- we don't know). One -- in my county -- has arrangements in place with private vendors who run most of the jail operations. The other -- in the neighboring county -- is run mostly by the county gov't.