Malcolm Jenkins

WetdogWetdog Senior MemberPosts: 5,112 Senior Member

on trumps lies.

It's hard to step out in the public and fight to make it better.

It's hard to meet with people who don't agree with you and to have tough conversations about uncomfortable race-related issues and how to make a positive change.

It takes empathy and time to listen to other's experiences that may be different than your own.

It takes courage to stand up for the TRUTH even if it's not a popular one.

This is what my colleagues and I have been facing for the past two years. Players have met with police departments, elected officials and community advocates around the country.

Chris Long played for free last year and donated his entire salary to charity.

We've fed the hungry, we've mentored our youth, we've fought to create opportunities for communities and individuals who have been disenfranchised, we've given scholarships, and the list goes on.

We've done all of this while still climbing to win the highest esteem in our profession. We are athletes, but as citizens, we are doing everything in our power to make our communities better. This is the hard, but, right thing to do.

It's not our job. No one elected us to do this. We do it because we love this country and our communities. Everyone, regardless of race or socioeconomic status, deserves to be treated equally. We are fighting for racial and social equality.

Simply google: "How many Philadelphia Eagles knelt during the national anthem last season?" and you find that the answer is zero. A similar google search will show you how many great things the players on this team are doing and continue to do on a daily basis.

Instead, the decision was made to lie, and paint the picture that these players are anti-America, anti-flag and anti-military.
I find the assault on free thought disturbing,
I find the willingness to give it up frightening.

Replies

• Shawn C.Shawn C. Senior Member Posts: 5,443 Senior Member